Infirmary Street Baths Building
The Infirmary Street Baths were the first public baths in Edinburgh, built in 1885 by Robert Morham.
Following the enactment in 1846 to Encourage the Establishment of Public Baths and Wash-houses, baths were built in Scotland from the 1850s to provide accessible washing facilities to improve public health. Until the 1870s women had to attend at different times from men. In the Ladies Baths space at Dovecot, we see an example of their needs being considered in the building design. The Ladies Baths suffered a fire in the 1950s, but the surviving pool continued in use until 1995.
Facing possible demolition, The Dovecot Foundation funded the restoration of the building with the opening of Dovecot Studios in 2008. The Ladies Baths is used as an event space, while the tapestry studio occupies the former swimming pool.