The Dovecot Foundation was created in 2010 by Alastair and Elizabeth Salvesen in order to ensure the long term future of tapestry weaving in Scotland and to build on the legacy and archive of 100 years of Dovecot’s history.
Originally established in 1912 by the 4th Marquess of Bute, Dovecot’s founding weavers John Glassbrook and Gordon Berry came from William Morris’ Merton Abbey Workshops.
Their ethos of arts and crafts ideals and weaving skills have been passed on to generations of Dovecot Apprentices to the present day Dovecot Apprenticeship prgramme.
Dovecot’s Master Weavers continue to collaborate with artists and designers on tapestry projects and commissions ensuring that the skill of tapestry weaving remains vibrant in the 21st Century.
The Dovecot symbol represents the 16th century stone pigeon house located in the grounds of the Studio’s first home in Corstorphine, Edinburgh. Faced with closure in 2000, Dovecot Tapestry Studio was re-established in the following year with philanthropic support from Alastair and Elizabeth Salvesen and directed by David Weir.
The Studios temporarily occupied space at Donaldson’s School for the Deaf in Edinburgh before moving in 2008 to Infirmary Street following a 2 year renovation and restoration project of the former Victorian Swimming Baths.
Dovecot was originally established by 4th Marquess of Bute who invited weavers John Glassbrook and Gordon Berry, from the workshops of William Morris, to Edinburgh in 1912 to establish a weaving studio that would produce tapestries of historic interest for Mount Stuart in Rothesay. The founding Master Weavers came with their arts and crafts ideals and weaving skills which they passed on to generations of Dovecot Apprentices until the present day. Dovecot Tapestry Studio was incorporated in to The Edinburgh Tapestry Company in 1946, but was continued to be known as Dovecot until 2001 when it was then established as Dovecot Studios.