Infirmary Street Baths Building

Infirmary Street Baths

The Infirmary Street Baths were the first public baths in Edinburgh, built in 1885 by Robert Morham. Following the enactment in 1846 to Encourage the Establishment of Public Baths and Wash-houses, baths were built in Scotland from the 1850s to provide accessible washing facilities to improve public health. Until the 1870s women had to attend at different times from men. In the Ladies Baths space at Dovecot, we see an example of their needs being considered in the building design. This space is now used by Dovecot Gallery for exhibitions and events, whilst Dovecot Tapestry Studio occupies the main swimming pool area.

×

Subscribe to our mailing list to keep up to date with Dovecot news and events.

×

Gallery & Shop

Mon-Sat 10.30am-5.30pm
August: Daily 10am-6pm

Tapestry Studio Viewing Balcony

Thurs & Fri 12-3pm Sat 10.30am-5.30pm
August: Mon-Fri 12-4pm Sat & Sun 10am-6pm

Café

Mon-Fri 9am-5pm Sat 10am-5pm
August: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm Sat & Sun 10am-5pm