COLOUR & LIGHT

5 November 2016 to 25 February 2017

View all Exhibitions

COLOUR & LIGHT

Exhibition highlighting the relationship between colour and light in recent Dovecot projects. From projection to pigment, there are a myriad of different ways that the weaver can use the subtle effects of light on colour to bring textile to life. The importance of light in successful colour blending is a vital element in the production of all the textile art produced at Dovecot Tapestry Studio; but with experience and skill the weaver can also make light the subject and focus for the work itself. Collaborations with artists including Tom Philips, Garry Fabian Miller, David Poston, Chrissie Clyne and Eduardo Paolozzi are represented in this exhibition.

This display of textile works, film and objects provides an opportunity to take a closer look at the materials and processes involved in creating tapestries and rugs at Dovecot Tapestry Studio with an emphasis on colour and light. A coinciding programme of accessible events including talks, handling sessions and workshops are available to those who wish to deepen their understanding.

Colour & Light Curator’s Tour
Wednesday 16 November 2-2.30pm
Hearing Loop Tour of Colour & Light
Thursday 1 December 2016 11-11.30am
Audio Described Tour of Colour & Light
Monday 16 January 2017 11am-noon
Curator’s Tour of Colour & Light (Hearing Loop available)
Thursday 2 February 2017 2.30-3pm
Colour & Light Touch Table Tour
Tuesday 21 February 2017 11am-noon
Colour & Light Family Workshop
Saturday 3 December 2016 11am-noon | Saturday 18 February 2017 11am-noon
Colour Blending with Wool – Tuft Making and Bobbin Winding
Thursday 17 November 2016 2.30-3pm | Saturday 17 December 2016 11-11.30am
Wednesday 18 January 2017 2.30-3pm | Saturday 11 February 2017 11-11.30am
Colour & Light Torch Lit Tour
Thursday 26 January 2017 6-7pm

Exhibition open: Mon-Sat 10.30am-5.30pm

The Dovecot Tapestry Studio Viewing Balcony can be visited on Thurs and Fri 12-3pm and Sat 10.30am-5.30pm.

×

Subscribe to our mailing list to keep up to date with Dovecot news and events.

×

Gallery & Shop

Mon-Sat 10.30am-5.30pm
August: Daily 10am-6pm

Tapestry Studio Viewing Balcony

Thurs & Fri 12-3pm Sat 10.30am-5.30pm
August: Mon-Fri 12-4pm Sat & Sun 10am-6pm

Café

Mon-Fri 9am-5pm Sat 10am-5pm
August: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm Sat & Sun 10am-5pm